Smith and Wesson 3913 Review

by Mark C. - Guest Writer
(Dayton, Ohio)

S&W 3913NL

S&W 3913NL

The Smith and Wesson 3913 is, in my opinion, one of the best options for concealed carry. My variation is the 3913NL. The NL is the same as the LadySmith, but without the Ladysmith logo. The slide is less than 1 inch in thickness, the grips are slightly larger. It weighs in at 24 ounces, about the same as a GLOCK 19. The slide is thinner than the cylinder of my Ruger SP101, and hence is more comfortable to carry IWB. It is flat and is barely noticeable when carrying it. I carry this gun everyday and sometimes forget it is there.

The Smith and Wesson 3913 is a 9mm with a capacity of 8+1. One thing to be aware of is that +P ammo is not suggested for extended use, due to excessive frame wear. However, limited use of +P is ok. I carry Speer Gold Dots +P in mine.

This is a double action pistol, while some prefer the constant pull of striker fired guns, I prefer the heavy first shot and lighter follow ups. The 3913 is surprisingly accurate for a gun with a 3 1/2 inch barrel. In my hands follow up shots are quick and easy. I easily keep all my shots in 1 1/2 to 2 inch groups at 25 feet. Which is what I practice most for self defense.

The manual and magazine safeties were also a consideration for me. When storing the gun for the night I put the manual safety on, but carry with it off. I have heard a lot of opinions on magazine safeties and understand both sides of the argument. Some prefer not to have it due to tactical reloads and being able to fire the gun with one in the chamber and magazine removed. That may be good for cops/military, but for everyday CCW I don't see the point. I prefer the magazine disconnect. If you got into a fight and someone was trying to get your gun then all you have to do is drop the magazine and render the gun unsafe. There are reports where this capability has saved officers' lives. I also use this function when I want to keep the gun ready but am worried about someone finding it. With the mag removed and separate from the gun then there are no worries.

Unfortunately, Smith & Wesson discontinued this model several years ago, along with other 3rd generation models in favor of the M&P. Some are still available through LE contracts.

Everything you need to accessorize or repair your firearm

Comments for Smith and Wesson 3913 Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 07, 2014
S&w 3913 NEW
by: Anonymous

I've always liked the 3913. Right size, good cartridge. I wouldn't want to feed it a steady diet of +P, but there are other loads it will handle very well.

Jun 10, 2014
The New 3913 NEW
by: MarkC

In a act of stupidity I sold my 3913 a while back. Selling it has lead to me searching for what I feel is the perfect choice as a CCW. Recently I pruchased a S&W Shield 9mm. To me it is the New, Up-To-Date 3913. It has the perfect balance between weight, size, capacity, and shootability. I must say my search for a 3913 has ended with the Shield.

Jun 07, 2014
3913 NEW
by: Anonymous

I love my 3913 so much that I purchased a second one used. This has to be the finest CCW Smith ever made. For the life of me I can't understand why Smith stopped making them. Just think what would happen if they brought it back!

Mar 02, 2014
3913 is good Gun! NEW
by: BigSR!

I carried my 3913 as a second wepon when I worked as a police officer in Columbus Ohio. A nice compact pistol. I still have it sitting in the safe.

Jan 02, 2014
CCW are not Targel Guns NEW
by: usasalesreps

CCW Firerams are meant to protect at 10 feet or less.99% of all shootings are less than 10 feet. If someone is shooting to protect himself at 25/50 feet he is legally going to be in hot water I have carried ccw since 1970. I practice once a month starting at 15 feet ending up at 7 feet A good example would be to stand at one end of a 20 ft room and visualize that someone is 20 feet from you
GET THE PICTURE

Dec 20, 2013
Run Away! NEW
by: Anonymous

I doubt it. By design it's meant to be compact. Adding a larger mag would defeat that, and besides--if you can't stop an aggressor with nine bullets, your problems are much larger than magazine capacity. Time to RUN.

Dec 20, 2013
Magizines NEW
by: Anonymous

Are there larger capacity magazines that the 3913 will accept. I'm interested in a 10 round or larger mag. If they exist , where would I find them?

Jun 08, 2013
cs9 3913 NL NEW
by: Anonymous

PTGB
(Pull Trigger Go Bang) every time
Thats what a ccw is supposed to do at 10 feet or less

May 01, 2013
3913 trade NEW
by: franco

I recently traded my LC9 with a CT laser and got $300 to boot for this gun.I hated the trigger on the LC9 and it started to rust after 6 months so I was glad to get rid of it. The guy that had the 3913 picked it up as a police trade in and he just couldn't hit anything with it (I found out he couldn't hit anything with any gun). It was obvious that it had not been fired often as it looked like new. The first mag out of the S&W and I was sold. This gun shot so good and felt so good in hand that I would have traded the guy even if he had held out but he was as anxious to get rid of it as I was to have it. I knew he got a good deal on it so all in all it was a fair trade based on both of our purchase prices. Because of the overkill on safety mechanisms on the 3913, I'm going to give this to my son since as his home defense gun.

Mar 10, 2013
Bad choices. NEW
by: Mark C.

Unfortunately, I sold my 3913 off a while back. It is one that I will always regret selling.

Mar 10, 2013
S&W 3913 NEW
by: Lou

Purchased in 1990. Sat around for years without being fired. Recently I tried to use it only to find it Jamming constantly. I had it professionally cleaned which made no difference. I sent it to S&W. They sent it back to me within 2 weeks at no charge. They did not say what they did but it worked like a dream after they "fixed it".

Mar 10, 2013
S&W 3913 NEW
by: Lou

Purchased in 1990. Sat around for years without being fired. Recently I tried to use it only to find it Jamming constantly. I had it professionally cleaned which made no difference. I sent it to S&W. They sent it back to me within 2 weeks at no charge. They did not say what they did but it worked like a dream after they "fixed it".

Mar 05, 2013
shootiny under stress NEW
by: Anonymous

I have the CS 9 and 3913 NL with the big dog custom grips They are both incredible ccw and feed everything that goes down the pipe I carry regular 147 gram loads(much lighter recoil than +ps & getting the 2nd shoot off is more valuable than anything else) and at less than 20 feet it will stop anything I only practice at 20 ft thats where trouble happens They are not target guns!!! they are personal defense ccw's and you can compare them to anything that is now being made even glock,sigs H&K etc etc
Just a bit of info, fire a clip at 20 feet then jog in place for 15 mins then fire 2nd clip. that will simulate the stress and how fast your heart will race when in a confrontation Then check targets you ail be amazed how bad a shot you are at 20 feet

Mar 05, 2013
shootiny under stress NEW
by: Anonymous

I have the CS 9 and 3913 NL with the big dog custom grips They are both incredible ccw and feed everything that goes down the pipe I carry regular 147 gram loads(much lighter recoil than +ps & getting the 2nd shoot off is more valuable than anything else) and at less than 20 feet it will stop anything I only practice at 20 ft thats where trouble happens They are not target guns!!! they are personal defense ccw's and you can compare them to anything that is now being made even glock,sigs H&K etc etc
Just a bit of info, fire a clip at 20 feet then jog in place for 15 mins then fire 2nd clip. that will simulate the stress and how fast your heart will race when in a confrontation Then check targets you ail be amazed how bad a sot you are at 20 feet

Feb 01, 2013
I'll Bet Your Answer Is "No" NEW
by: Anonymous

Wanna sell it? ;)

Jan 08, 2013
Smith 3913 vs Glock19 NEW
by: Anonymous

The 3913 is the best conceal carry 9mmm auto ever made in my opinion. The first shot double action pull makes it much safer than the Glock to carry in undercover situations. According to stats, Glocks are the most likely autos to be accidently discharged by law enforcement officers in the United States. A Glock cannot be purchased with a mag disconnect, unlike smith/wesson.

Jul 19, 2012
The Best!!! NEW
by: Dale USMC

I have many weapons I like Kimber SIS, Colt 45, Springfield NM 1911, S&W Body Guard .38, H&K USP Compact....But I carry the S&W 3913 NL..Won't leave the house without it.... Got a nice IWB holster from Andrews Leather in Crock Skin and forget its there...

Jan 02, 2012
3913 LS NEW
by: Anonymous

I bought my 3913 LS used at a police supply store. It has functioned perfectly (400 rds) so far. It is very accurate with my carry load (Fed. 124 gr HST). I like it's size and weight for CCW carry. The only negative aspect I have had is finding spare magazines.

Jan 02, 2012
3913 LS NEW
by: Anonymous

I bought my 3913 LS used at a police supply store. It has functioned perfectly (400 rds) so far. It is very accurate with my carry load (Fed. 124 gr HST). I like it's size and weight for CCW carry. The only negative aspect I have had is finding spare magazines.

Dec 19, 2011
best gun ive owned NEW
by: gary

Fits just right in my hand

May 16, 2011
beautiful gray lady
by: Richard

I have a Smith & Wesson 3913LS and I am happy with it. I had browning hi power, Glock 19, colt 1911 in .45 and .38 super, and several revolvers in .357 magnum. However, the beautiful gray lady S&W 3913 is my favorite. It is compact, powerful, accurate, reliable, and always with me. "can I order something else?
As a soldier I was a fan of the Colt 1911, but when you leave a uniform and you become civil, you need something comfortable, reliable and powerful for daily use, and there is, from my point of view, anything that best meets the requirements that the Beautiful S & W 3913.
Try it, enjoy it, love it

Sep 24, 2010
Love my 3913
by: Anonymous

I bought my first 3913 a number of years ago. It was LNIB with extra factory magazines. This gun has never misfired, failed to eject, or had 1 burp with any kind of ammo. Much like my glock 19. This is a thin profile and carries extremely well. I had the Hogue grips for a while but went back to factory as the gun was thinner with factory grips. This is perhaps my favorite ccw firearm. Not too big, aims and shoots to point and never a problem. Can't recommend highly enough. If you can find a clean one a a fair price you buy it. I now have 2 of which 1 will be given to my son. These guns are "keepers"

Jun 27, 2010
All the best for 3913 NL!
by: Anonymous

All of my semi-auto is a 1911's platform including full size, commander and compact in 45's for over 25 years but there is one and ONLY one 9mm single stack that I highly recommemded as an all around gun is a Smith & Wesson 3913 NL. Yes that is my only 9mm.

Jun 16, 2010
3913 NL
by: KT

Best of the BEST.

Jun 16, 2010
Great Gun
by: Ken

I traded an almost new Ruger LCR (also a great gun) for my 3913 LadySmith. Mine is used and seems to have all the roughness worked out of it. Very accurate and a pleasure to shoot. About the safety issue. This auto also has a firing pin safety. It cannot be discharged without pulling the trigger. So carrying with the safety-decocker in the off position doesn't really present a problem, especially with the heavier double action trigger pull. I did have a spurred hammer installed on mine, mostly for range shooting when I want the first shot to be single action. You can also accomplish this by pulling the trigger far enough to grasp the hammer with your thumb and cock it. But then your finger is on the trigger when cocking and could present an unsafe situation. I felt better to cock the piece without trigger contact.

All in all, this gun hopefully will never leave my possession. It is my daily carry gun and I found that the CrossBreed IWB holster makes me forget I have it on.

Feb 16, 2010
1994 S&W 3913
by: Anonymous

I sent my 1994 3913 back to Smith, as it was as it had a gritty feel in the trigger and shot a little left, and when I corrected the aim my sight was way off. Smith put in a new barrel , tuned the action and gave me 2 mags for nothing. As far as I am concerned this is one hell of a gun and shoots 2 to 3 in. groups at fifty feet, at 6'o'clock aim, with almost all types of ammo

Feb 16, 2010
1994 S&W 3913
by: Anonymous

I sent my 1994 3913 back to Smith, as it was as it had a gritty feel in the trigger and shot a little left, and when I corrected the aim my sight was way off. Smith put in a new barrel , tuned the action and gave me 2 mags for nothing. As far as I am concerned this is one hell of a gun and shoots 2 to 3 in. groups at fifty feet, at 6'o'clock aim, with almost all types of ammo

Sep 22, 2009
3913
by: Ron H.

I have a 3913 NL also. The trigger on mine was terrible. DA tripped my digital scale which is 12 lbs. After the wolf springs did not really help it, I sent it to the Performance Center for an express trigger job. It came back at 9-10 lbs DA and 6 SA. I emailed them about their workmanship and found out all they had done was clean the weapon and reassemble. They did not charge my credit card. AFter they failed to send me an express label for another attempt as promised, I decided not to send the pistol back to them. I took it to my shop and cut the lighter Wolf mainspring to the same length as the factory spring. Wow! 6.75 lbs double action and just over 4 SA. The weapon fires my reloads every time you pull the trigger.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Best Concealed Carry Handgun.


Tired of endless searching, sales pitches, confusion, and needless expense? Concealed Carry just got simpler. Your Concealed Carry Evaluation will focus your attention on exactly the guns and gear that will work for you personally.

your-concealed-carry-pointer