Taurus PT145 Review

by Mike Horton
(Kansas City, MO)

Although my bed stand gun is either a Taurus 1911 or a Springfield XD 45, I find myself reaching for the Taurus PT145 to carry. I originally purchased this gun for my wife to carry, but after shooting it, I realized that it was not the right gun for her. After she shot one of the three Taurus 1911s that I own, it came to pass that I now own only two, and I'm OK with that.

I have had several law enforcement friends refer to carry pistols as "throw away" guns. At first I didn't realize what they meant, but after reading many articles related to personal defense, in most cases, the gun used was never returned after the dust settled. Personally, I don't care if I don't get it back as long as I'm still around to purchase another one. But, it does add one more point to consider. The price of the Taurus PT145 is right for just under $400.

The PT145 is not, and I repeat "not" a fun gun to shoot. It is not particularly accurate past 20 yards and the recoil is horrible. Keep in mind that the gun is a compact .45. It does not have the mass that a Commander style 1911 has so your body is absorbing the energy. A weak wristed person will more than likely experience a stovepipe, as my wife did the first couple of times she shot it. With practice she was able to manage the recoil but it wore her out.

Now, the good points: This is purely a defensive pistol. It does come in smaller calibers, but I'm of the opinion that the .45 ACP is the best combat/defensive round there is. The gun is very light and compact. Its effective range when drawing and firing is 20 yards. Beyond that, drop compensation is not consistent. What I love about it is that I can carry it inside the waist band with only a t-shirt draped over the belt-line. Great for summer. A simple and reliable design with a 10 + 1 capacity.

The very best concealed carry resource on the web
click me

Everything you need to accessorize or repair your firearm

Comments for Taurus PT145 Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 07, 2014
re pt 145 pro NEW
by: trebuh

Hi Budhall

Thanks.

Im not into competetive shooting and in truth have no experienced in open shooting ranges. I usually go to indoor shooting thus i dont drop my magazine on the ground. But after the first cleaning of my magazines ( disassembled it), no more occurance of the sand like particles up to this point in time.In fact i bought another magazine of late. It functioned properly when i tested it with 60rds of 230gr fmj ammos.

I plan to get a memebership with the Armscor open shooting range soon. Realy need to have some experience in outdoor shooting, to have the real feel of it...for defense/protection of my family.Was informed just now that someone was stubbed to death early this morning...a few meters from our house. No suspect has been apprehended yet.

For the cleaning of my barrel, i was advised to use the steel brush but for very limited strokes only.That is using the original brush initially and plastic brush and for stuborn residue, the steel brush.For now its very effective. It leaves my barrel almost 100% clean and shiny.

My next range visit, i will be using reload 230gr, full copper fmj ammos.Had it reloaded by Stronghand guns and ammo store. Its one of the highly recommended reloading store here. Hope no issues re the ammos.

Maraming Salamat.

Trebuh

Sep 03, 2014
noted earlier observations.... NEW
by: budhall

Hi Trebuh;
I was just looking back over the various entries here and I notice two observations on your 28 March entry. The sand like particles in the bottom of your mags might actually be sand, depending on where you drop them(Good habit to be in; letting empty mags drop free onto the ground IS good!), or more likely it's unburned powder that naturally spews around as the fired cases are extracted. The other thing I thought of was re. your residual crude when using Hoppes #9. Hoppes #9 is a great bore solvent. It goes back a long way. It's formulated to attack copper fouling, which is a slow chemical process. Thus, if you leave a fine film of Hoppes #9 in your bore you'll find green copper oxide being lifted out of the metal pores days & weeks later. Serious high-power rifle shooters often go back several times over subsequent weeks to reclean the lifted residue from their barrels.
Later,
Bud

Sep 03, 2014
update of my taurus pistols NEW
by: trebuh

Hello everybody.Just an update of my PT 145 pro & PT 24/7 pro 45acp.

For my PT 145 pro, had already 400 rounds and i plan to go to the range middle of this month for another 100 rds of 230gr full copper fmj ammo( first time). No more issues experienced since my last post early this year.

For my PT 24/7 pro 45acp,had already 550 rds without any issues/problems since last post.Will also use for the first time full copper 230gr fmj ammo middle of this month.

Hope both FA will continue to function/perform perfectly without issues/problems.

Salamat po

Trebuh

Sep 02, 2014
PT 145 problems NEW
by: Anonymous

For you who have failures to feed, take heed. I bought a first generation soon after production and really liked the feel of this weapon, and still do.I have often thought it inaccurate, but when I take my time and squeeze the trigger, it's okay, but not a 5" 1911, so don't expect too much. A couple of years ago, I began having more failures to feed, 1 in a magazine, then 2, until it was at least every other round. I cleaned it over and over, to no avail. I read that there were several types of magazines, and thought I had the wrong ones. Then I noticed a black jelly bean on the grip and realized it was a polymer problem which is/was common with first generations. I returned it to Taurus for the grip problem and asked them to see if I needed a new set of mags; in about 10 days it returned with grips repaired and a new barrel assembly. It had microscopic filings which held dirt, powder, etc., which I could never remove.It was like having a new gun, though there are still FTFs, but very few. I must wonder if this is the solution to so many who complain of FTF problems. Just a thought. I doubt I'll ever let it go; it's got a lot of power in a small package, not a Wilson Combat at $3k, but certainly a very good close range protector for you and your family.

Mar 28, 2014
pt145 pro NEW
by: trebuh

hello again. went to the range yesterday...shot 40rds of armscor and 10 rds of magtech 230gr fmj. have now a total of 180 rds for my pt 145 pro.at round 146 i had a failure to feed. the range officer told me it happens sometimes to any gun. after that no more FTF until round 180.at round 156, i had a failure to fire but the range officer told me that the ammo had a hard primer...forgot to pull the trigger to check the double action feature of the pt145 pro...i rocked the slide and reloaded the ammo and it went bang...

just finished cleaning the gun and two mags... i use hoppes 9 to clean my barrel. it leaves some residue still. the mags have somewhat of sand like particles at the bottom/plate...hope that everythings will be ok on my next visit to the range...

salamat po

Mar 28, 2014
pt145 pro NEW
by: trebuh

hello again. went to the range yesterday...shot 40rds of armscor and 10 rds of magtech 230gr fmj. have now a total of 180 rds for my pt 145 pro.at round 146 i had a failure to feed. the range officer told me it happens sometimes to any gun. after that no more FTF until round 180.at round 156, i had a failure to fire but the range officer told me that the ammo had a hard primer...forgot to pull the trigger to check the double action feature of the pt145 pro...i rocked the slide and reloaded the ammo and it went bang...

just finished cleaning the gun and two mags... i use hoppes 9 to clean my barrel. it leaves some residue still. the mags have somewhat of sand like particles at the bottom/plate...hope that everythings will be ok on my next visit to the range...

salamat po

Mar 23, 2014
pt145pro NEW
by: trebuh

Good morning.

Thanks for all the sharing and suggestions/comments.

Will keep in touch...

Appreciate much...

Salamat po.

Mar 22, 2014
Break-in, etc NEW
by: BudHall

Just one opinion, but.... Like with any "machine", a break-in period can be very subjective and a matter of preference. That said, I'd expect any issues to work out after 200rds. of 230gr. FMJ. It could take longer, but I'd not expect it to. The GuardDog EFMJ load was originally marketed as Personal Defense. I believe it was first devised as an answer to New Jersey's law banning HPs and SPs for civilian possession/use, allowing only full cast or FMJ ammo. One interesting feature is that it's immune to clogging with material like some HPs do. The other feature I like is the lower recoil, improved control and rapid recovery.

Mar 22, 2014
pt145 pro NEW
by: trebuh

Thanks. with regards to the guarddog ammo... its the EFMJthat i was looking for the past year. It did not enter my mind that the guarddog is the same ammo that i wanted to try on my PT 24/7 pro 45 acp. Some say that i can use FMJ 230 gr as my defense ammo because its a45 and feeding is much better than HP. So i guess the EFMJ is the answer. Hope the guarddog is available here. in the next few weeks will go to the range and try to fire another 70 rds of magtech/armscor 230gr fmj ammo using my pt145 pro to have a total of 200rds. How many rds is the breakin for a pt145 pro? thanks. Good morning.

Salamat po

Mar 19, 2014
Confession.. ;-( NEW
by: BudHall

To be honest....I traded my PT-145 off recently. It was an earlier model, I liked it very well, found it performed quite well. It did "bounce" a bit, which any light .45 will do, but was manageable, accurate, and reliable. It liked the GuardDog very well. I tend to continuously see something else I want to try and have to trade in so as to be able to afford the next new toy. I'm casually looking for a new PT-145 now. I found it a bit large for my build as a carry gun, so it was a night stand piece. I'm rather stout and anything on my hip or back bangs doorways and car door frames badly, thus tearing up the clothes. My carry preference, out of necessity, is a pocket 9mm in my strong side pants pocket.

Mar 19, 2014
pt 145 pro NEW
by: trebuh

Thanks BuddHall... Will have to check if federal guardDog is available here. For the last few months the critical defense ammo has not been available here. Was just lucky enough to buy the zombie max.The zombie max/critical defense is somewhat expensive here...80 pesos per (around 1.80 dollars...

Are you using a PT 145 pro also? Hope you could share your experience of its performance.

Again thanks.

Salamat po.

Mar 19, 2014
Ammo choice NEW
by: BudHall

The Zombie Max should feed very reliably. It's front end offers a great feed shape. My favorite "JHP" however, which isn't a JHP, is Federal's GuardDog. It looks like a FMJ, but functions very effectively like a JHP. One feature I really like about it is that it's a lower recoil round, thus allowing better control and quicker follow-up shots. It also opens rapidly for reduced unwanted over penetration.

Mar 19, 2014
pt 145pro update NEW
by: trebuh

hi everybody. got my Permit To Carry Firearm Outside Residence (PTCFOR) license on march 11. went to the shooting range and fired 68 rds of magtech & armscor 230gr fmj ammos. for now ,shot a total of 130 rds already with no issues/problems whatsoever. after the breakin, will try the hornady 185gr zombie max or the critical defense. hope it will work perfectly...

any suggestions for the best JHP ammo for pt 145 pro?

Thanks in advance.

Maraming salamat(thank you)...

Jan 06, 2014
PT 145 PRO NEW
by: trebuh

Hello there. Just wanted to share my initial experience with my new Pt 145 PRO.After cleaning it, i fired 52rds of 230 gr FMJ magtech & armscor ammos... It performed perfectly.. no FTF, FTE etc. At 7 meters, i had a good placement shots.

I also own a gen 1 pt 24/7 PRO 45 acp.Its performing perfectly.. shot 350 rds of 230 gr FMJ ammos already.

As I mentioned in other fora, i prefer usually the last series of a FA model(prior to coming out of its new model eg.. gen 2).i would expect that all issues/problems of the earlier series have been already fixed or addressed to/ corrected by the manufacturer.So far i realy love my two Taurus FA.I bought them brand new.

Also, based on the serial #'s, PT 145 PRO was manufactured April, 2012 and PT 24/7 PRO in December, 2011

BY the way, im from the Philippines.

Jan 06, 2014
PT 145 PRO NEW
by: trebuh

Hello there. Just wanted to share my initial experience with my new Pt 145 PRO.After cleaning it, i fired 52rds of 230 gr FMJ magtech & armscor ammos... It performed perfectly.. no FTF, FTE etc. At 7 meters, i had a good placement shots.

I also own a gen 1 pt 24/7 PRO 45 acp.Its performing perfectly.. shot 350 rds of 230 gr FMJ ammos already.

As I mentioned in other fora, i prefer usually the last series of a FA model(prior to coming out of its new model eg.. gen 2).i would expect that all issues/problems of the earlier series have been already fixed or addressed to/ corrected by the manufacturer.So far i realy love my two Taurus FA.I bought them brand new.

BY the way, im from the Philippines.

May 08, 2013
Taurus ammo?? Blazer problems?? NEW
by: budhall

Wow, didn't know Taurus markets ammo. I'll have try to locate some & try it. I doubt the Blazer ammo was the problem, likely just coincidence. Blazer is not a hot load. Interesting, please report back what the Taurus repair shot says they think the cause was. ;-)

May 08, 2013
Mike Horton Re: NEW
by: Anonymous

Change your ammo to Taurus's brass ammo and you'll be amazed at the recoil difference and the accuracy beyond 20 yards. One of my friends turned me onto it and I will NEVER buy another ammunition.

Apr 17, 2013
PT145 not firing at all NEW
by: Stephen

I've had this pistol for about 2 years and have loved it until recently. I took it to my CWP class and between the class and the night before I put 100 rds of Blazer aluminum cased ammo in it. It was the first time I had fired that ammo and it fired all 100 rounds no problem only jammed once. The next day I field stripped it to clean it and it didn't want to break down but did. Upon reassembly it was resistant to go back together. Once together it wouldn't slide back completely and was near impossible to finally get it slid back enough to strip it down again. I finally did and it seemed to be scrubbing like the internal track had expanded. After polishing the slide and lubing it up it went back to sliding properly but now it only light strikes will not fire any ammo I've tried. I took the firing pin out and everything seems in order cleaned it well and still not firing. I loved this weapon but now its nothing more than a paper weight. I guess I'll have to send it to Taurus but I'll never carry it w confidence again.

Apr 14, 2013
PT 145 NEW
by: Joe

I was getting misfeeds for about the first 100 rounds. The problem went away after that. I've shot about 500 plus rounds after that with no further issues. I think maybe it just needed to be broken in a little. I do a good cleaning after each range shoot. And I make sure there is a nice coat of oil on the rails / slide contact points. Nice gun so far ...

Mar 16, 2013
im ok with it NEW
by: jp

I just bought a pt 145. it likes to misfeed....alot. some ammo.is better than others. anyone got any advice? i have seen that is a clip being too stiff. Some say leave the cilp loaded but i tried that and tonight shot the gun, and it kept misfeeding. any tips?

Mar 16, 2013
im ok with it NEW
by: jp

I just bought a pt 145. it likes to misfeed....alot. some ammo.is better than others. anyone got any advice? i have seen that is a clip being too stiff. but i tried that and tonight shot the gun, and it kept misfeeding. any tips?

Mar 14, 2013
awesome gun NEW
by: map888

I have small hands for a guy,but even when shooting a 230 grain round,the recoil was not a problem,I compare it to shooting a 357 snub nose with target rounds,,every 45 is going to have a little "umph" to it,but the 145 is easily managable,I've shot 40's that are much more snappy and had muzzle flip,,instead of paying $225 more for a Glock 30,buy the taurus and use the extra money for ammo,,shoots just as smmoth & accurate as the Glock

Jan 27, 2013
Troubleshooting?? NEW
by: BudHall

Hi Jeff; That's not usual. One question comes to mind. One is, does it fire on the second try?? You describe a "click". Have you checked to see if there's a light strike mark on the primer?? I'm wondering if their grip, or hold on the pistol, isn't offering enough resistance to recoil, thus in some way not allow a full cycle and reset of the firing system. This malady normally causes bad ejection and/or feed, but this seems different from how you describe it.

Jan 27, 2013
Problems?? NEW
by: Jeff

I have personally never had any issues with my pt145 but my wife and mother-in-law have. Wondering what it could be. When they shoot it, they might get 1 or 3 rounds through and then it just clicks. It ejects the case, loads a new round but doesn't fire. Never happens with me and they both are small and new to shooting.

Jan 07, 2013
Interesting observation NEW
by: BudHall

KillerBG; interesting observation.
I've noticed the same wider sight notch with mine, but think it's an asset in attaining a "basic" sight picture. i.e., it's faster sighting, but not as precise at longer ranges. A trade off for the defensive pistol role, I guess. As I mentioned earlier, I've found mine to be suitably accurate beyond 25 yds., but it does require careful concentration to attain. Faster shots at 25-30 yds. will stay on an IPSC target, but it does take the whole target to catch them.
Enjoyed chatting...

Jan 06, 2013
The Taurus PT 145 NEW
by: KillerBG

It is a nice compact .45 Auto to carry. My biggest problem with the weapon is the rear sight. It is a bit too wide which makes it difficult to center the front sight in. And I agree with other posts as it doesn't have good accuracy beyond 20 yards. None the less, for a carry weapon, it packs the stopping power.

Jan 05, 2013
Clarification NEW
by: BudHall

Hi All.
I'm not "that Anonymous", but in his/her defense, I've sometimes unwittingly been listed as Anonymous when I've overlooked changing the name entry above. Thus this Anonymous might not actually or intentionally be hiding. ???
Re. the flash from one pistol or another; this is a function of the brand & load of the cartridges being fired. Some manufacturers actually put flash inhibiters in some of their loads, and others do not. Thus... Fire the same load, in the same ambient light conditions, in the same barrel length pistols, but from two different manufacturers, will produce the same amount of flash.
I enjoy shooting my PT-145. While I certainly find the recoil manageable, it is somewhat less the pleasurable. The pistol can produce rapid defensive accuracy well beyond realistic self defense distances, easily out to 25+ yards. Overall I like it.

Jan 04, 2013
Dear anonymous NEW
by: Ordinance delivery

Man up and use your real name .quit hiding behind that listing to snipe at other people who post their opinions .also please tell me how you arrived at the conclusion that somehow. A Glocks muzzle flash is less than a 1911!! I have personally fired dozens
of rounds upto hundreds of .45acp in a short barreled 1911 at night with only a very short time Needed to recover night vision from muzzleflash train well and lots of practice is the answer!

Dec 15, 2012
Posting etiquitte NEW
by: Lt4545

Just a note if you wish to be taken seriously when posting do not start out or ever insult other posting individuals they are just trying to express their opinions on the subject . As for the 145 I' m very happy with mine and plan to go shoot it as much as possible this week now that the time is finally available. It's light recoil makes it fun to shoot for everyone I've let try it out- me mostly! By the way I've only been firing 230gr. Ammo.

Dec 13, 2012
Great gun for the money NEW
by: Lt4545

I love my pt 145.this is a very easy to shoot compact .45 auto. For me shooting one handed recoil is quite light. Even my girlfriend thought so after firing 20rnds of 230gr ball, her comment was wow get me more ammo! And she's not a gun person or shooter.right out of the box we fired a couple of hundred rounds of 230gr. Ammo from various manufacturers with no issues FTf or fte accurate enough at ranges up to 15yards max conditions permitted more than good enough for self defense proposes any compact .45 is not a target gun for long(er) range shooting. I carry mine daily and feel safe , well enough armed ; plus with ten plus one rnds of .45acp I feel secure since its reliable! Also I carry at least one reload! My brother liked it enough to go out and get one for himself I just got some glow on sight paint to fix the find the sights in the dark problem ;check out their website

Dec 13, 2012
Great gun for the money NEW
by: Lt4545

I love my pt 145.this is a very easy to shoot compact .45 auto. For me shooting one handed recoil is quite light. Even my girlfriend thought so after firing 20rnds of 230gr ball, her comment was wow get me more ammo! And she's not a gun person or shooter.right out of the box we fired a couple of hundred rounds of 230gr. Ammo from various manufacturers with no issues FTf or fte accurate enough at ranges up to 15yards max conditions permitted more than good enough for self defense proposes any compact .45 is not a target gun for long(er) range shooting. I carry mine daily and feel safe , well enough armed ; plus with ten plus one rnds of .45acp I feel secure since its reliable! Also I carry at least one reload! My brother liked it enough to go out and get one for himself I just got some glow on sight paint to fix the find the sights in the dark problem ;check out their website

Dec 06, 2012
LOVE THAT PT145 NEW
by: 7shooter24

PT145= easy to conceal, recoil a lot like a compact 9mm, accurate at self defence distance, mean looking, what more could you ask for?

Nov 20, 2012
Accuracy distances.... NEW
by: Anonymous

Reviewing the entries for the Taurus PT-145 I notice very few(only one, before I got tired of reading) reference to shooting at only 20 feet. Most distance references were at 25 yards, indicating a general feeling that the pistol is accurate at that distance. I've found mine to be accurate at 25+ yards, though it groups a bit high at that range. As a defensive pistol I don't expect to likely be using it to address an adversary beyond room or hallway length, 20 to 25 feet, tops. This is not to say it can't happen, just that the likelihood is very slim. Regarding the recoil issue; the more I shoot it, the more I find it tolerable. Not fun; but certainly tolerable. Last weekend I put 150rds. of 230gr. FMJ through it at 15 yds., keeping all in a 9" paper plate with no malfunctions. I've picked up some 165gr. Guard Dog ammo to try in it, supposedly a "reduced recoil" load. We'll see.

Nov 20, 2012
taurus pt145 accuracy NEW
by: Anonymous

I notice that a lot of these comments are about the PT145 not being accurate over 20 feet. If thats all you can shoot, throw a rock. I practice with my PT145 at 25 yards (75 feet) and its a likk at every shot. I have shot it at 50 yards(150) and it still in the kill zone. Granted, I may not hit a dime at this distance but all Im interested in is a silloette and hits in the chest area, which this little gun will do.

Oct 29, 2012
great gun i love it NEW
by: joboo

I bought this gun at Academy sports for 299.99. best money i have spent in years this is a sweet shooting gun i put 200 rounds through this gun, 230 grn ball and 200 grain hollow point with no jams or anything. My Friend that I was shooting with has a Springfield XD and our guns side by side are the same size his is 40 cal mine 45.but he said mine shoots as well as his 600 dollar gun and from 20 ft this is an accurate little gun. my first 11 rounds out of the box were all inside a 5 in. group.i was impressed with how little recoil this gun has for a 45 i have shot multiple 45's and this gun for the size shoots like my Browning Hipower 9mm in recoil. This is a great ccw weapon small and concealable and with plenty of knockdown power.

Jul 20, 2012
I Like it!! NEW
by: budhall

In short; I'm very impressed with my PT-145; I like it!! I bought it used for $249 and think I got the best of the deal. I agree the PT-145 is a hard recoiling pistol, but....I've shot a lot of 185gr. & 200gr. SWC target ammo through mine and the recoil is somewhat reduced, much more tolerable. Mine swallows UltraMax 200gr. SWC commercial reloads very nicely, and at a reasonable price, too. A standard pressure 185gr. JHP might be easier to control in repeated fire than any of the 230gr. FMJs or JHPs. Stay away from +P loads if you don't like recoil; and it is a .45 after all. Mine shoots into about a 4" group at about 4-5" high at 25yds. with the 185gr./200gr. loads; I can live with that in a CCW pistol. I also find that the grip is more like a full length grip than many other compact & sub-compact pistols. While it is unlikely to be needed; this facilitates reloading under stress, as your grip hand can actually interfere with a speedy reload under high stress situations with the shorter grip pistols, even with extended mags. I give it 4 Stars. It would be 5 stars but for the slightly large and high grouping.

Jun 28, 2012
pt 145 NEW
by: sam from lanc,pa

i don't know what gun some of you guys shot, i bought my pt 145 around 2 years ago and ran around 100 rounds through it and not 1 misfire or any thing so this is a great gun and doesn't have a bad recoil

Jun 16, 2012
update of last review NEW
by: ogdenlane

To update prior review. I began having jams which increased to one half of the shots per mag, not acceptable in a defense gun; I began thinking I didn't really know how to clean a gun after using solvents, lubes, etc., to no avail. I was going to trade it for a S&W M&P when I noticed a chip off the grip. I returned it to Taurus because of the chip and asked them to see if a new mag would take care of the jams. They sent my gun back in ten days looking like new. The barrel had extremely fine burrs due to manufacturing problems; a new barrel was put in place. That was a year ago, and I have had not one jam from any type of ammo since then. I am looking to do some trigger work from reading what is now offered for M&P pistols. This Taurus is a fine weapon, but practice, practice, and practice more. Ammo's twice the price of 9mm, so be sure you can finance your skills.

Jun 09, 2012
From Connecticut NEW
by: Frank

So far,a reliable carry gun.First round through the weapon didn't eject but once I cycled the slide the gun worked flawlessly and has a manageable recoil for a small 45. I will say though that you must clean this weapon out of the box.Mine was filthy inside.Not sure how many rounds they put thru it for testing but it was dirty but then again,Smith and Wesson is the only manufacturer that cleans the weapons prior to shipping.

May 18, 2012
You get what you pay for. NEW
by: JK

I bought a new Taurus PT145 in March 2001. Went straight to the range and had problems with the first shot, it would fire the first round off the mag and the misfire indicator on the right next to the ejection port pop's out. Clear the chambered round, still no shot. I had to eject the mag, clear the chamber and reinsert to get a round off. It went straight back to the factory and when I got it back I put 150 rounds thru it and the polymer grip fractured under the serial number about half an inch down from the slide from one side to the other. Once I received the pistol back from the factory I took it to the range and the rearward pin of the two pins securing the upper to the lower was pushing its way out about a quarter inch after every full mag thru it. So I sent it back to the factory for the 3rd time, this pistol has been to Florida more than me!!

With that being said, it's fun to shoot and it has a good feel to it. Its very picky about ammo and I've found that CCI, Magtech and Federal 230 grain are the only reliable ammo it shoots and there will still be a stovepipe or a dented primer misfire in every 50 shots. I have the Williams firesight on it and still need to align the bottom of the front sight to the top of the rear to get an accurate hit at 20 feet.

I believe if your a consumer researching a product for purchase and saw all the negatives on the PT145 it would be wise to scratch it off your list or maybe you'll get lucky and get a good one, it's your money. By the way, on the Taurus's 3rd trip to Florida I bought a Glock 22 and have never had an issue with it, it's a larger pistol but since I'm not a tiny guy it conceal's fine.

May 14, 2012
Off duty weapon NEW
by: Anonymous

Bought a Taurus PT145 for an off duty in late 2011. Took it out and fired 50 rounds of 230 gr. FMJ and 185 hollow points through it at a rapid fire pace. Not one misfire, stovepipe or malfunction. It was pretty accurate out to 25 yards. Lightweight, easy to conceal and has stopping power.

Feb 18, 2012
PT145 NEW
by: Anonymous

I don't know what gun the reviewer was shooting, but it couldn't have been teh PT145. I have found this one of the easiest compact size .45's to shoot. I didn't find the recoil harsh at all. And mine is quite accurate at 25 yards, if I do my part. But he is right about something...this is a defensive pistol, and I do not anticipate having to use it at such distances, but it's good to know it's capable if I do have to use it.

Jan 30, 2012
to the ann. a hole (whole) NEW
by: Barry

Whats the point in critercizing the next guy fer his spelen. See if'n u can read this: Don't B a DIK!!!
To the owner of this group and others, I appolagize If this is offensive, But some people just need to be told! thanks, Barry

Jan 18, 2012
Make Every Shot Count NEW
by: 2layZ2

Ammunition for my Taurus generally runs a dime on either side of fifty cents per pop, and it doesn’t make a lot of sense to shoot relatively expensive or even cheap rounds through a pistol that doesn’t shoot where you point it. With its tiny “Heinie” rear sight and the tall stock Taurus (.263) front sight, my PT 145’s point of impact was in the basement. I literally had to hold the top of my rear sight level with the bottom of the front sight to get standard 230 grain .45 caliber slugs to print anywhere close to the front dot.

I wasn’t sure if a Williams Fire Sight would solve my lack of elevation dilemma as the fixed sight version (#70897) featured a front sight that was taller (.275) than the Taurus offering, and the adjustable sight version (#70969) was even taller yet. (.410) The answer had to be in the adjustable rear sight.

The Williams Fire Sight slid into the rear dovetail effortlessly and using a .050 inch key, I had both set screws snugged securely in a matter of seconds. After getting the front Fire Sight started, I laid the pistol in its side and put a square piece of rigid plastic against the side of the front sight before gently tapping it to the middle of the slide. The front sight screw, another .050 fastener, fit neatly into the slot milled into the receiver for that purpose.

I was glad to see that my initial point of impact with the Williams Fire Sight setup was windage/on; elevation/high, and after a few down clicks with the top screw, I was dotting the “i” consistently with a six o’clock “punkin’ on the post” hold. If you want truly stellar performance from the Taurus PT 145, a well-built, reliable, and highly accurate platform, you’ll need to outfit it with a sorely needed sight upgrade. The dazzling results I obtained with the Williams #70969 Fire Sights speak for themselves. I highly recommend this product.

Jan 08, 2012
Factory replaced three dot with straight 8 NEW
by: Anonymous

Sent my PT145 with factory 3 dot sights back to Taurus without a mag because it was shooting low. Fed-X shipped it there for $16. They returned it to me in two weeks with straight 8 sights. Now, it hits bulls eyes at 25 yards. They even included a free mag.

Jan 02, 2012
their, there, and they're NEW
by: Anonymous

@ anonymous (12/11)-

Maybe you should turn on the spell check! It's "their", not THERE genius!

Dec 11, 2011
Great gun NEW
by: Anonymous

Sounds like the last ten comments were from the same person due to the fact that there spelling and grammar were horrible and about the same, sounds like someone pissed you off dude!!! Anyways i have owned this gun for about a year now and nothing has gone wrong with it, not one misfire or jam with thousands of rounds shot from it, from many different brands. Over all a great gun for a great price!!!

Oct 22, 2011
Done with it !
by: stork

First time I fired the pistol had feed problems, the feed ramp broke off where it narrows toward the bottom .
One week turn around from Taurus with new barrel so went to fire yesterday and out of 18 rounds had 2 dented primers but no ignition .
I believe the firing pin is too short and since it cost me $ 25.00 to return the pistol I am done with it .
Too bad , I believe the recoil is minor and accuracy good inside 15 yards which is great for a self defense weapon !
Have a Smith Sigma 40 cal that cost about the same and no problems with any ammo I run through it including reloads !
No more Taurus for me ! If you spend $ 75.00 or more for postage you could just buy a better quality weapon with the money wasted on postage !

Oct 22, 2011
Done with it !
by: stork

First time I fired the pistol had feed problems, the feed ramp broke off where it narrows toward the bottom .
One week turn around from Taurus with new barrel so went to fire yesterday and out of 18 rounds had 2 dented primers but no ignition .
I believe the firing pin is too short and since it cost me $ 25.00 to return the pistol I am done with it .
Too bad , I believe the recoil is minor and accuracy good inside 15 yards which is great for a self defense weapon !
Have a Smith Sigma 40 cal that cost about the same and no problems with any ammo I run through it including reloads !
No more Taurus for me ! If you spend $ 75.00 or more for postage you could just buy a better quality weapon with the money wasted on postage !

Oct 22, 2011
Done with it !
by: stork

First time I fired the pistol had feed problems, the feed ramp broke off where it narrows toward the bottom .
One week turn around from Taurus with new barrel so went to fire yesterday and out of 18 rounds had 2 dented primers but no ignition .
I believe the firing pin is too short and since it cost me $ 25.00 to return the pistol I am done with it .
Too bad , I believe the recoil is minor and accuracy good inside 15 yards which is great for a self defense weapon !
Have a Smith Sigma 40 cal that cost about the same and no problems with any ammo I run through it including reloads !
No more Taurus for me ! If you spend $ 75.00 or more for postage you could just buy a better quality weapon with the money wasted on postage !

Oct 22, 2011
I need more rounds downrange.
by: Anonymous

Bought my PT145 brand new, cleaned it, and threw 100 rounds of S&B through it because I had heard of some problems. Not a burp, misfeed, recoil surprised me as lighter than I expected. I've got 400 more rounds of cheap ammo I am going to use next to make sure it works well.

Sep 19, 2011
Rounds Jamming
by: Anonymous

I have had this gun for about 1 year. This is the first time I have had to field test the weapon. Gun was cleaned when removed from the box. Took weapon to a range for target practice. Weapon would misfeed rounds and misfire every other round. Cleared round samething over and over again. Could this be user error? My friend, who is a Sheriff, attempted to fire the weapon. Same result over and over again. So disappointed in Taurus. What now? This is right out of the box!!

Sep 18, 2011
Disappointed
by: Anonymous

This new pistol is on its way back to Taurus .Nose dives or stove pipes with either mag . Mags seem loose in the well .
I have tried MANY brands of ammo with same results .Even measured COL on 200 rounds .
Some weak strikes but ammo put into 2 1911's fired fine .
I like the size and feel for a CCP but IT flat does not operate . Yes, the pistol was cleaned through and through both before and during firing .
I noticed a comment on the education of people using this site .
Keep you your oinions to yourself and stick to the subject !!

Aug 14, 2011
single shot auto matic
by: Jack Bennett

I bought a PT145. Now to find someone who is as excited to buy one as I was when I bought it. Since the first time at the range, I have to shoot it single shot. I load it with Full Metal Jackets from 3 different companies, 3 different hollow points all weighing at 230 grains. I reloaded some of my 230 grain hollow points. I put a bullet in the gun with a loaded mag. Shoot one time because it's jammed now. Pull the slide back and let it go. It chambers. Shoot it again and it's jammed trying to feed the next round. Pull the slide back and same thing. It's the same thing with every flavor bullet it put in this darn thing. I've had it a for a few weeks now and have probably fired over 200 rounds for a break in period. Was at the range again yesterday and same thing is going on. This Taurus sucks. No, it does not stove pipe. Each of the bullets do a nose dive into the front of the feed ramp and there it is. Pull back the slide and let it go and it feeds. But, it will never do that automatically. Time to see if someone will buy this cheep and I"ll go pickup a 1911 from someone. You know, a real gun that will shoot and actually feed another round into the chamber.

Jun 23, 2011
Good for the money
by: Anonymous

Have an 05 PT145 Pro SS with the DAO trigger and 3 dot sights, it has been great since new. Quite accurate and no function problems with around 500 rounds. Very concealable and relatively light. Got an 09 PT145 ProSS with the SA trigger and Heinie sights, noticed a difference in the recoil rod assembly, they got larger in width, otherwise same gun structurally. Early one has a better trigger than later model, and is more accurate too. Taurus mags are always overpriced, but ProMags work ok for PT145, they just dont have the finger rest. Have had no problems with either PT145 but have had problems with a Taurus PT845 and their customer service was horrible on warranty repair. Had a PT917 with an improperly cast slide. Taurus is a mixed bag and you never know what you will get from them. Woe to you if you have to deal with the Miami morons in warranty service. Say goodbye to your gun for months and expect alot of BS over the phone.

Jun 15, 2011
Two major failures
by: Anonymous

I've owned the PT145 for about 8 years now and would have rated it 4 or 5 stars up until last night. I use it as a carry and bedside defense gun. I loved this gun. Its easy to carry, it shoots great, and the price was right. The trigger mechanisim broke in 2006. It cost me about 50 bucks to send back to the factory, but it came back better than new. Although disappointed my self defense weapon failed, I was willing to give it another chance. Last night at the range something broke again. I don't know what you call it, but its the piece that draws and releases the hammer. Fortunatly both failures were on the range. This could have been tragic. I will get this gun fixed and sell it. Two major failures with less than 1500 rounds.

Jun 07, 2011
Wow
by: Anonymous

Christian gun owners seem to be bumbling idiots from what I gather reading these reviews. Please save us all the headache and either learn English or don't attempt to write.

That being said, this is a good gun. It shot low at first, but after a break in of about 200 rounds my groups came up and I feel happy with it. The straight-8 sights took a little getting used to at first when compared to the normal 3-dot sights, but I think I ultimately like them. I can shoot accurately with decent groups at 10 meters and still hit the target at 20. I think this gun is a great value for under $400.

Apr 26, 2011
great gun
by: Robert from texas

I have the Taurus PT145 and I love it. Very acurrate. I can hit stuff out to thirty yards. I think the PT145 is a great gun but their quailty control is not that great. Great design but poor workermanship sometime. Look at it like this, people might be tee off at work, not paying attention letting junk get by. Or coming to work high or junk. You never know. Mad at the boss or looking at that new fine lady they hiring. Taurus design are as good as glock, in some cases better. On youtube there's people with lemon GLOCK.....

Apr 21, 2011
Dissapointed POS
by: Kapowie

I originally purchased a Taurus 1911 and was very pleased with it's performance. Because of this I bought the PT145 to use for CC. New OOB the gun would not feed properly. Sent it back to Taurus and received it back in a few weeks. Still looked like new, took it to the range and it fed fine but would only fire about half the rounds. Accuracy was not to bad Took those rounds and they fired fine in my 1911. Sent it back to Taurus, it returned in several weeks, but looked like someone kicked it across a concrete floor. Took it to the range and it fed and fired fine but it was hitting about a foot low and to the right, all over the paper at about 7 yards. I have read all these great reviews above and am happy for you but my experience is that it is a POS. Would not take it to a dog fight.

Apr 18, 2011
Are you kiddin' me!!
by: Anonymous

After reading most of the reviews, I came to the conclusion that some of the writers should finish high school(at least) and not be carrying weapons of any sort. But, This is "America--Land of the free and Home of the brave", right?

Mar 04, 2011
pt145 not bad at all
by: Anonymous

First I bought the 145, when I got it I could not belive how small it was, no this is not a competition gun, for defense though it is really good. Right after my friend saw it he bought one used, no issues whatsoever even with the used.
Will you have problems with a Taurus? Maybe, I sure have known people who have. Did we have any issues with this gun, no. Works fine for what it is intended, just to hit someone with big rounds.
If 10 rounds of 45 wont get it done, better get rifle or shotgun, or just be a really really good runner. If I ever had a problem with it I would not be happy but I would use the warranty.
They give a good warranty so I am not worried about it, if you dont have a lot of money to spend then get a taurus, or just try one before you say that they are junk. I dont work for Taurus and I own more than one brand. But I think Taurus isnt too bad

Dec 22, 2010
great pistol
by: Anonymous

I have had this gun for about 2yr.never had a problem,keep it clean,find the wright ammo and you will be find.This is my main carry gun,i trust my life with it.Practice is what is needed,hope you want need to use it.Stay safe

Dec 03, 2010
Get what ya pay for.........
by: Anonymous

When I say you get what you pay for, I mean that in a good way. This is definitely not a match grade pistol, it is a down and dirty self defense weapon that is good to about 20 yards. Most of the reliability issues with this gun stem from the first two generations. Buy a third generation pt145 and you won't have any problems on the gun side of things. All jams from the 3rd gen guns are either from limp-wristed shooting or from the magazines. On various forums are ways to modify the mags so as to not have that problem. I have one mag that feeds flawlessly and one that seems to jam on the second to last round. But with the good mag it shoots flawlessly. I swapped out the heine straight eight sights for some standard ones and that solved any accuracy problems I had from not being accustomed to the heines. For as cheap as the gun is you can't beat it for what it does!

Nov 20, 2010
Hmmm
by: Anonymous

You reach dor a gun that was dwsigned 100 years ago!!! Too many safety's and things on the weapon to catch on. The floash of a 45 in the dark will blind you for several seconds also. I could go on for hours. The answer Glock...

Nov 01, 2010
junk
by: nite drop

shoots 6-8 inches left and 6-8 inches down at 20 feet went back to my sp101 for ccw a rock would do better. Looks pretty

Oct 09, 2010
PT145
by: avet1947

Sold my Glock 27 for the PT145. I was happy with the Glock, but desired a compact 45. After MUCH research, chose the 145. Although it has mixed reviews, my 3rd gen has functioned flawlessly. Silvertips, Hydro-shock, Winchester white box in JHP & FMJ went through without a hitch. For $400 out the door, can't beat it.

Aug 05, 2010
Taurus PT145
by: Anonymous

I purchased a PT145, thought it would make a great carry gun....what a peice if junk! Could not load more than 4 rounds into the oversprung factory mags, and it would not cycle a round into the chamber, got 2 mags from ProMag, the worked much better for about 50 rounds, then shot two mags of self-defense loads and it locked open every two rounds, then the mags would not click and stay in...Sending it back to Taurus for a rework, it will be sold or sit in the gun safe. I carry 24/7 and cannot, and will not put my life on the line and not have a weapon i feel will work 100% of the time. I'm looking at the Glock 33 in .357sig. You know what they say, when you go black you never go back....I'm heading to the dark side and it's all Taurus's fault.

Jul 20, 2010
Disillusioned
by: Robert King

I have owned this weapon for about one year. I needed service from Taurus because of a broken safety: that's when the trouble began. I contacted the company about their lifetime repair warranty and returned the gun to them as they directed. I have not seen nor heard about my gun since. Taurus acknowledged receipt of the weapon and stated it would be repaired and returned to me within 5-6 weeks. This was in February. It is now July and no weapon. My repeat requests for information have gone unanswered. They promise to get back to me with an answer then...Nothing. The gun is far better than the company that sells it.

Mar 27, 2010
hand fulll of dynamite
by: Ogden Lane

If you want to do competitive target shooting or handgun hunting, this is not your gun. But if you want a carry weapon with almost a dozen rounds of 45acp, check it out. I've had mine several years, and frequently think I need to trade it; but when I take time with the trigger pull, it is sufficiently accurate to do damage within the range for which it is intended, with is about 40 to 50 feet. It has been written by experts that a baddie can cover 25 feet faster than you think, and one round may be all you get off, so this may be the weapon for that. It is easily small enough for a console, or inside waistband, meaning you can have it when you need it. That is what is meant by a defense weapon. A 12 gauge with 00 would be better, but carrying it can be a bit conspicuous. If you get it, please practice with it.

Mar 02, 2010
Good gun.
by: Zak

Purchased the PT145 a couple weeks ago. Sights were off out of the box, but are luckily adjustable (unlike many other subcompacts). Not the most accurate gun in the world, but good for a .45 with a 3" barrel. Very lightweight and easily concealable. I have a very slender build, but have no trouble making it disappear in a SOB holster. Recoil was not nearly as bad as I expected. A lot of muzzle climb, but didn't hammer the hand or wrist. Good looking gun too (not like those eyesore Glocks). Also, I love the full sized grip and 10+1 mags. All and all, a great buy for the price. Although, I don't really care for the plastic trigger, or the fact you have to pull so far back on it.

Jan 27, 2010
PT140 and PT1911 cont.
by: D wright

sorry to run too long.
I like how easy it is to conceal a high capacity .40 cal auto pistol like the PT140. I saw a person at the range shooting a PT145 who was hitting inside a silver dollar sized spot at 7 yrds. Must take alot of practice!
The Llama has given me an appreciation of 1911 style pistols. and finally, I was able to purchase a PT1911 in Dual Tone just recently. I love shooting it. My experience with the PT140 is partially what convinced me to take a chance on the PT1911. At the gun shop, I handled a kimber, les baer, and a springfield and the look and feel of the Taurus seemed just as good. experience at the range with about 150 rounds was good too with no malfunctions. surprisingly, the Llama is still my most accurate gun. guess I need more practice with the PT1911!

Jan 27, 2010
Taurus PT140 and PT1911DT
by: D Wright

Really enjoy this website!
I have had various pistols over the years. Never had the budget to have anything really nice. Most were .380 or .22 cal and were "saturday night specials". However, about two years ago, I got serious about CHL (concealed Handgun License in Texas).
Started with a Glock 22 (.40 retired from San Antonio PD) which was my qualification weapon. I liked it but was concerned about carrying with one in the pipe knowing just a trigger pull makes it go boom! I made a bonehead trade but got lucky. I traded the GL 22 at a gun show for a Llama 1911 style pistol. Thot I was getting a .45 but it was really a 9mm. After, I was afraid because I read so many bad reviews about Llamas. But I have put hundreds of rounds through it with no problems or malfunctions. This gun was very heavy so I didn't carry it much.
Then I picked up a Taurus PT140 at a gun show for $300. Turned out to be a great little gun though not as accurate as I would like. It's a bit "snappy" as far as recoil goes. a slip-on Hogue helped my shooting alot. I have had no malfunctions except with aluminum casing ammo. the Double action did allow me to pull the trigger twice until the round eventually fired.
(to be cont)

Jan 27, 2010
PT 145-Excellent CCW!!
by: Carlos

I have a standard 1911, plus a Taurus PT945 and my PT145. My favorite is the latter. I've had my PT145 for about 3 years now and have run about 1500 rounds through it. I absolutely love this little gun! It fits my hand (I'm average build) very well, and for me, it points right on! This is very important for a CCW; I just do the rapid point and shoot.
Here's my observations:
PROS: 10+1 rounds, external safety,subcompact, easily concealed, recoil snappy but easily handled, easy cleaning, inexpensive.
CONS: Suseptible to "limp-wrist", and must be well lubricated.That's it!
This gun may not be for everyone, but perfect for me. I'm looking at getting another one.

Jan 18, 2010
Very Good CCW
by: KC

I purchased the Taurus pt145 Millennium just before Christmas (Dec 21, 2009). It was a Christmas present from our daughter and her fiance. After taking this pistol to the range it has proven to be one hell of a compact hand gun. The only advice that I can give is if you are recoil sensitive stay away from the JHP and +P ammo(the 230gr ball is fine,and reliable). I feed all available ammo through the weapon and it took all without one FTF, stovepipe or malfunction. I fired 250 rounds and was pleasantly surprised at the results. Accuracy was more than I expected from a short barrel compact. At 7 and 10 yards target range all hit s were in the 10,9,and 8 rings. Actually I was holding my breath and saying a prayer after all the negative reviews. When it comes to mechanical things it is always a hit and miss. I really do not understand why Taurus let it's reputation take a hit with this one. Maybe the firm should look at their quality control branch and do a bit of job liquidations. Overall the weapon is a concrete winner for a CCW.

Jan 16, 2010
Feels great in the hand, fires a highly effective caliber
by: Anonymous

I bought this about 9 years ago, to replace a PPK .380 which fed terribly, though I wish I still had it, too. It is amazing that this package holds 11 45 rounds, but there it is; some say a pistol is what you use to fight to the closest shotgun; this'll do it. Occasionally, I think that it just really isn't sufficiently accurate for dependability, but when I shoot it, I remember why I like it. It does require focused practice because the striker fired trigger is a bit mushy, and the 3 or so inch barrel won't replace a .308 rifle, but it fits in my hand, car, jacket, etc. with excellent accomodation, and I know the caliber will do the job if I ever need it, so I continue to have great justified and justifiable affection for it. If you need something to pull quickly in close quarters to defend your family, and the shotgun isn't close or is unwieldly in such tight spaces, you could do much worse.

Jan 16, 2010
PT145
by: Chris

I'm with ArmyCop. I didn't find the recoil bad at all, actually expecting it to be a lot worse given it's small size. Definately acceptable in the accuracy department given that it's a $375 pistol. My only beef so far against the Taurus is that one of the two mags that came with it wasn't made properly, and had to be sent back to the company. It's been 3 weeks, and I haven't seen the replacement yet.

Jan 09, 2010
Taurus PT145
by: ArmyCop

Liked your review. Maybe because I'm a big guy but I recently aquired a Taurus PT145 and find it fun to shoot and no problems with the recoil.

I also have (had for several years) a S&W CS45, about the same size as the PT145 but only holds 6 + 1 where the Taurus holds 10 + 1.

I'm finding where my primary CC was the CS45 - now it's a week or so with the PT145 then back to the CS45 - haven't fully decided which one to carry all the time yet.

The CS45 is a great shooter, Stainless Steel and Alum aloy - not one of your lighter pistols but not too heavy either.

Again, Thanks for your review on the PT145.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Best Concealed Carry Handgun.


Tired of endless searching, sales pitches, confusion, and needless expense? Concealed Carry just got simpler. Your Concealed Carry Evaluation will focus your attention on exactly the guns and gear that will work for you personally.

your-ccwe-headerII