GLOCK 27 .40 S&W Review

by Guest Author

My Glock 27, 9 rounds of Federal, Well Worn Mitch Rosen CLP

My Glock 27, 9 rounds of Federal, Well Worn Mitch Rosen CLP

In mid 2005 I took it upon myself to begin shopping for the perfect conceal/carry pistol. After much research on the internet and in local gun stores, I decided to purchase a Smith & Wesson Model 642 with Crimson Trace Laser Grips. Very nice handgun. Was very impressed with the accuracy of this pistol. My one complaint, too large a grip. Although the Crimson Trace Laser is a nice addition to this pistol, it came at a cost. I purchased this to be a "Pocket Pistol". Unfortunately, the grips are larger than the standard S&W grips on this model. Thus, making the pistol larger and uncomfortable in the pocket.

After some time, I did more research and went out and purchased the Kel-Tec P3AT. This was the pistol that I carried with me for nearly a year. I carried it in my front pocket in a Mika Pocket Holster and I also carried it in a Pop-up IWB holster made by R.L. Graham. This was actually my preferred method because the pistol actually was below the waistband for deep concealment.

One day, while at the Gun Range, I was talking to a fellow who had a table full of GLOCKs. Out of ignorance, I never liked GLOCKs. I was never keen on the plastics of this gun, but the Kel-Tec had softened my heart on that matter. I shot three different size GLOCKs that day. Couldn't tell you what two of them were because I did not shoot them as well as I did the first one. And the first one was the GLOCK 27. A smaller version of the typical GLOCK but with a stronger punch. Every round, from the beginning of that magazine to the last, hit dead center of the head of the target I was aiming at. It was the perfect extension of my arm that I had been looking for.

When I was done, I walked back to my table on the firing line and continued to shoot my Kel-Tec P3AT, Springfield 1911A1, S&W 642, and the Yugo SKS. But, my eyes began to wander back to the GLOCK 27. I packed up, hurried home and tried to come up with a subtle way of telling my wife that I wanted to buy another pistol for concealed carry. She said,...."Yes!" I hurried off to the gun store, threw one on law-away and came home to research a holster.

Finding the proper gun is one thing, but finding the perfect holster is another battle all it's own. Unlike the past, I was determined to make this choice correctly the first time. (I have a drawer full of holsters.) I chose a Mitch Rosen CLP from their Express Line of holsters. It is an inside the waistband holster and it is the best quality, fit and comfort of any holster I have ever owned. My Sweet Spot.....the 3:30 position. The thick GLOCK disappears and I forget I have it. That was over a year ago and I could not be happier.

(I have a bigger build than your average person, not fat, and I have large hands, too. The shorter grip on the GLOCK 27 was not a problem. Some told me to get the grip extensions to make it easier to handle, but who were these people anyway? I was the one who was going to be shooting this little gun and as far as I was concerned, it fit my big hands perfectly. I grab it, I point it, I squeeze the trigger, I hit what I aim at. That's it!)

Your final choice may not be the GLOCK 27. Undoubtedly, you will go through several models, calibers, and manufacturers before you find that "perfect extension of your arm." Just remember, it is what fits you, not what fits your friend, or some guy on an internet forum spewing forth his uncensored opinions.

Good luck in your search. Whether you are a newbie, or an old pro, you always learn something new when shopping for a gun.

Comments for GLOCK 27 .40 S&W Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 16, 2014
recoil soreness
by: Anonymous

I have a glock 27 gen 4 and I love it.
However,I am a right handed shooter and have one problem and that is that the recoil as soon as I start shooting the gun hurts the bottom thumb bone on my right hand down by the web part of the hand. I hsve tried different grips and back straps, etc, and just cannot eliminate the soreness in the bone. If I shoot like 100 rounds I also will get the skin peeling away which would say there is movement of the gun with my grip when firing. I have other handguns and have no such problem. Can anyone recommend what I can do to eliminate the soreness it is creating.

Jan 05, 2014
Block trigger block safety
by: Anonymous

I liked most of the comments.If you want to carry hot just take you 27 to a good gun smith and have a trigger block installed.It mounts just like my 1911 safety. Up and you blocked and down and your hot.you should be able to get done for around a hundred bucks.


Jan 27, 2013
I agree
by: Mark

I also really like the G27. I actually shoot it better than any other Glock I have shot. The G27 makes for a great IWB carry gun, as well as a good home defense pistol.


Dec 26, 2012
clip
by: Anonymous

No it is not exceptable

Jan 26, 2012
G-22 & G-27
by: Anonymous

I own a Gen.4 Glock 22 and a Gen.4 Glock 27 and I love them both. I also own many other firearms, but do not carry any of them. Depending on the time of the year determin. what I carry. sometimes I carry both. I use Rem. 180gr. Golden Sabre ammo JHP. I also shoot 180 gr Buffalo Bore .40+P+P ammo in the G22 because I have replaced thhe barrel with a SS Bar-Sto Match grade, ported barrel. This barrel is custom made and fitted and will withstand 280,000PSI. I use this barrel just at the rane for yuks. Fun to shoot and very accurate and the G27 is awesome out the box.Easy to carry and also very accurate. No problem with recoil.

Jan 26, 2012
G-22 & G-27
by: Anonymous

I own a Gen.4 Glock 22 and a Gen.4 Glock 27 and I love them both. I also own many other firearms, but do not carry any of them. Depending on the time of the year determin. what I carry. sometimes I carry both. I use Rem. 180gr. Golden Sabre ammo JHP. I also shoot 180 gr Buffalo Bore .40+P+P ammo in the G22 because I have replaced thhe barrel with a SS Bar-Sto Match grade, ported barrel. This barrel is custom made and fitted and will withstand 280,000PSI. I use this barrel just at the rane for yuks. Fun to shoot and very accurate and the G27 is awesome out the box.Easy to carry and also very accurate. No problem with recoil.

Oct 15, 2011
better to have it than not
by: Anonymous

In response to your chicken shit comment. I'm not going to get nasty on this web page. But that being said,I would bet that you don't own a handgun,much less even have shot one. Your comment leads me to believe that you also live up north in Yankee land. You see,we the people have the right to keep and bear arms so we exercise just that.

Also, carrying a firearm is a comforting feeling,and a huge response ability. Being an gun owner all my adult life, fourty plus years ,I can tell you this. When the (police) show up,the crime has already been committed. (We will clean up the mess and do the paper work).

Its up to the individual to protect their self and family. So,who's protecting you,and yours? Since it sounds like your the one who's afraid to carry
.
So if you ever find yourself looking down the business end of a gun,I hope one of these checken shits are nearby to save your sorry butt. Remember, that firearm is just a tool. Its up to you how its used. If your going to exercise your right to carry.

PLEASE BE A RESPONSEABLE GUN OWNER! Happy shooting.

Oct 15, 2011
LOL
by: Anonymous

you guys all sound like a bunch of paranoid chickenshits carrying concealed guns here and there. More NRA gun kook nonsense by the knuckledraggers. LOL

Nov 10, 2010
Great review. Holster options.
by: Anonymous

I have carried full size pistols for as long as I have had my permit. I used to be against sub-compact guns of any kind. I traded a coworker a G17 for a 27 and man have I been missing out! Still enough grip to work with under stress and even somewhat fun to shoot. Same as everyone else, I had to move on to holsters. Milt Sparks summer special II-comfortable but maybe thicker than Kydex. Blade Tech IWB holster with pull to snap loops- probably the best all round option for concealed carry (imo). My personal favorite for comfort is the Raven concealment Phantom holster. It is outside the waistband (or able to be IWB if loops are added) and it holds the gun really close to the body because the holster is curved with the body and very thin but tough kydex. This holster in a standard cut (not MD) is a dream and it makes it easy to put my gun on even on those days when I would normally be too lazy to put on my full size. Thank you for the great review! I love the Glock 27. God bless!

Nov 10, 2010
Great review. Holster options.
by: Anonymous

I have carried full size pistols for as long as I have had my permit. I used to be against sub-compact guns of any kind. I traded a coworker a G17 for a 27 and man have I been missing out! Still enough grip to work with under stress and even somewhat fun to shoot. Same as everyone else, I had to move on to holsters. Milt Sparks summer special II-comfortable but maybe thicker than Kydex. Blade Tech IWB holster with pull to snap loops- probably the best all round option for concealed carry (imo). My personal favorite for comfort is the Raven concealment Phantom holster. It is outside the waistband (or able to be IWB if loops are added) and it holds the gun really close to the body because the holster is curved with the body and very thin but tough kydex. This holster in a standard cut (not MD) is a dream and it makes it easy to put my gun on even on those days when I would normally be too lazy to put on my full size. Thank you for the great review! I love the Glock 27. God bless!

Oct 14, 2010
I originally wrote this article.
by: Anonymous

Back pocket carry will be very difficult with this pistol. It is wide and somewhat heavy when loaded. I have found that it looks too much like a pistol when it is placed in my front, or back pocket.

Most times I still carry it IWB. I am still using the same Mitch Rosen CLP holster from his Express Line. But, each person's preference is different. If you can make it work as a Pocket Gun, then more power to you. There have been times I placed it in a jacket pocket in the winter. That's easy. A person could practically conceal any pistol in the winter.

The Glock 27 is still my first choice. I have several pistols which could easily fall into the concealable category, but they stay in the safe day after day.

Oct 14, 2010
New Owner
by: Carlton Brown

Have had .45 all my life (30+ years) Love my old haskell ugly duck...cc not a prospect unless I was going to wear a parka! So I started towards GLOCK...G 30 G 36 slimline, first choice I thought, price consideration lent me towards the G27, plus size...still shorter and barely wider. ALL of you experts are right! About everything! NOW what I have not made my mind up about is the ultimate second purchase...HOLSTER. I want a pocket holster, can't stand anything but ME in my pants. Besides, I wear tight clothing always...just do...not a gay thing, as if that might matter, I just grew up with tight jeans. So I am leaning towards BACK pocket carry if not winter coat, and or cargo pants when possible. INPUT please???? I will go with Federal 135 grain ammmo. already have extra mags...

Oct 08, 2010
Go with the Glock
by: Anonymous

Been reading these comments about the Glock,and I must tell you that these guns are a pretty damn hard to beat in my book.

I have been carring a Glock 23, every day without fail for the past eight years,with a round in the chamber. As long as you "NEVER" and I mean "NEVER" place your finger on the trigger until you are ready to fire the weapon you will be fine,and if you were to drop it, just let it hit the floor or pavement its not going to hurt it or scratch it, Its a Glock.............

These guns are combat ready and are made to be shot alot and cleaned little.

But Me personally I clean mine once every three months shot it or not. Reason being, oil will evaperate and I just like to keep it lint and dust free.

"Take care of your weapon,and it will take care of you".

Also as for the mags,thirty days loaded, then switch to another mag for another thirty days,and so on. That keeps your springs operating properly.

Another thing,after 3000 rounds or so, replace the recoil spring and guide rod. its less that $10.00 and is a drop in part.

If you follow these simple rules,you will be happy for a long time with your GLOCK.

Happy Shooting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Aug 29, 2010
Glock 27
by: Anonymous

I have had a Glock 27 for over 10 years. I have a large handgun collection and the 27 is the one I carry (I have a license) the most. I love it.

I have one regular 9 round mag, one with a 1 round pierce grip extension for 10 rounds, and a Glock 22 mag (15 rounds)with a grip adapter.

There is lots of really good ammo available, I use Winchester 155 gr. Silvertips.


Jul 29, 2010
Great Review, Love my G27
by: Chad

I definitely think this little pistol is worth mentioning. I shot the 17 extensively when deciding what full size 9MM to get, but ended up going with the Springfield XDM, which appears to be the Glock, with a few add ons. When I was looking at carrying I got a great deal on a barely used G27, and bought it on impulse. I couldn't be happier, it tucks away and is so small I can wear fairly tight (not form-fitting) t-shirts, and it's not obvious at all. It also packs a great little punch! I too have been hesitant about carrying it chambered..

Jul 19, 2010
G27 Bliss
by: Bike Mike

I just picked up my G27 Saturday & absolutely love it. Ive owned & fired many pistols but this one takes the cake. Small, safe, easy to hide and packs plenty of power. Couldn't be happier.

Apr 30, 2010
Answer to safety question
by: Steve

"do most poeple have guns concelaed with rounds chambered or do they take the rsk of pulling and chambering what are the odds of a chambered glock 27 firing on its own wiether or not it hits the carrier"

I would not carry a charged Glock in my pocket, but in a holster that covers the trigger, it's actually VERY safe. When the Glock is charged, it's really only partially charged. Pulling the trigger finishes charging the pistol, and as such, has it's got some weight on the pull. It's really hard to imagine it going off in a holster. Especially since it has two internal safeties besides the trigger safety. Just don't ever try to catch the weapon if you drop it. Always let it fall to the ground.
Last comment I left, I was going to get a G27. Now I have one and love it as much as I thoguht I would. Firing 180gr and that's got some kick!

Apr 30, 2010
First Shot
by: Daniel Burke

I had never shot a gun in my life before yesterday and this is the exact gun that I shot. Very compfy feel to it, though I don't have experience to compare. I like the way it sits in my hand and I decided to buy it from my uncle, who has used it only a handful of times. Kudos.

Apr 09, 2010
nice job
by: john d

i have been carying a conceld weapon from 1986 till now,i have had many,the last 10 years its been a walther 32acp,now i have been looking at the tauras pt 107slim in 9mm but i figured as soon as i bought one the next week they would come out in a 40,and money has been tight,so i have looked around for the right gun for about 3 months,i walked in a local gun shop here in upstate ny and there was a beutiful glock 27 pre-owned,i usally dont buy used but it was clean and had three mags,when the dealer told me 400 bucks i told him i would take it,i have only fired it maybe 20-25 rounds, i feel in love,man was i glad i bought it and come to find out it was a great price,my DEC police freind carries one as back up and loves his.i hope this helps someone looking,

Mar 15, 2010
Nice review
by: Steve

I LOVE the feel of this gun in my hand. I'm definitely set on buying one with this year's tax return. A couple of things I'd like to add.

To the person who suggested the G23, this gun is also very small, though obviously a little bigger than the 27. Another difference between the two guns that might sway some opinions is that the G23 has a white light mount, where the smaller G27 does not.

Another really slick thing about the G27 is that it can be easily refitted to shoot 9mm. I think all you change is the barrel and mag.

Feb 01, 2010
safety question
by: Anonymous

do most poeple have guns concelaed with rounds chambered or do they take the rsk of pulling and chambering what are the odds of a chambered glock 27 firing on its own wiether or not it hits the carrier

Oct 04, 2009
The G27 is an efficient carry weapon
by: Anonymous

The G27 combines the punch of the .40 with the nearly identical size of the g26 in 9mm. If you can hold on to it then use it. Be advised that G22 magazines (15rounds) wil also function in the 27. This makes for even more rounds on the reload. Companies make a horizontal magazine pouch for a single pouch that all but disappears under an untucked shirt. I find the 165 gr Remington Golden Saber to be efficient in the 27 averaging about 1040fps at the muzzle. Street reports sing the loads praises in social situations.

May 02, 2009
Anonymous
by: C. Woetze

The articel helped in my decision in my first conceal cary piece. I don't think it will be a Glock 27, or any Glock. I do not like the thickness. Thanks for the insight. It helped.
Yea, pistols take magazines, not clips. Clips is turning into an acceptable shortened term for magazine.

Feb 03, 2009
my g23
by: Jason S.

I am pleased to read your article as I do have to ask my wifes permision ( but not all the time ) somtimes. If you like your 27 you might wanna try the .40 cal G23, a very nice larger cal. weapon easy to carry concealed and a very nice shooting gun. As to your statement about bieng ignorant about plastic guns I myself was the same way. Even though I loved my Beretta mod 96 40 cal, I could not carry concealed with out it bieng noticable and so I began looking for the perfect concealed gun wich my best researched showed me to the glock, my point is dont be afraid to look at the larger calibers, the 23 still caries 13+1 .... food for thought.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Best Concealed Carry Handgun.