GLOCK 26 Review
Best CCW for me

by Lawrence
(Texas)

My pick is a Glock 26. Believe it or not, I sold a high-priced Kimber Pro Tactical .45 after getting the G26. Its not that the Kimber was not a good gun, it was. But after using both guns as CCW, the G26 was more comfortable, easier to hide and offered more shots.

It was lighter and smaller in every dimension except width, has excellent reliability and durability and costs far less. If I was going to stow a gun in my car, risking theft, I'd rather lose the 500.00 gun over a 1000.00 one. I ended up grabbing the G26 every time and the Kimber started gathering dust. I do not need a 1000.00 dust bunny!

Why the 9mm over SIG.357, or .40 or even .45ACP? Well, I could have had any of these calibers in a baby Glock, but here's why I went 9mm:

The .45 version is larger and heavier and offers fewer shots. It was out. The SIG.357 and .40 calibers offer same size and superior ballistics, with shot count very close to the 9mm, so why did I pass them by? Recoil. Although the SIG.357 and .40 are more powerful calibers, I consistently shoot better, both in speed and accuracy with the 9mm. On average, a LOT better. If one adds multiple targets, multiple shots or rapid fire, the .40 and SIG357 get harder to shoot well in the baby Glock, especially the SIG! And with today's ammo, I consider the 9mm plenty good enough to do the job.

I think shot placement and accurate follow-up shots are more important than the small advantage any of the other cartridges offer. Sure, I can shoot the .40 and the SIG 357,they just not are as easy to shoot, especially the recoil from the SIG.357! I seriously doubt anyone, if they are completely honest, would not admit that the 9mm is the easier caliber to fire.

If I were using a full-sized Glock, I would go with the .40 caliber. But in a G26, the better choice for CCW down here in south Texas, I went with the 9mm. With 12 shots of Corbon DPX 115 gr. ammo, I consider myself to be well armed. All I did to the stock G26 was go with a +2 Glock extended magazine and a good quality night sight. The extended mag is currently legal, and offers 2 extra shots plus better control to boot. The slight size/weight gain was worth the trade-off, as I could not see any practical differences or limitations using the extended mags over stock for CCW.

Many may take exception to my choice, but thats why Glock gives you a range of calibers to choose from. But, for me, I went with the 9mm G26.

Comments for GLOCK 26 Review
Best CCW for me

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 11, 2014
It was Luke, not Mathew
by: Anonymous

I shoot the Glock 26 well and don't mind the dangling pinky. I have a 17 round magazine in case I find I can't solve my problems with 11 rounds of 9mm +P.

Nov 11, 2014
The Biblical Glock??
by: Anonymous

Jesus what??? Hope that was a poor attempt by you to add some "humor" since Matthew 22:36 says no such thing'. I don't get the point and because of your effort I don't believe your review.

Jun 05, 2014
Glock 26 Gen 4 is fantastic
by: Anonymous

I have a Glock 26 Gen 4 and it is fantastic. I haven't fired a weapon in 21+ years and when I got on the range it was if I just fired yesterday. Recoil is manageable, accuracy tops. No problems at all, except when I ran out of ammunition I still wanted to keep shooting. It's fun to shoot, priced right. I was fortunate that I am retired Military, also was in Law Enforcement. I bought my weapon at the Cop Shop in Baltimore , Md and the owner, a retired Baltimore City Police Officer is a Glock Distributor, that is all that he sells. As a result I got my gun, brand new from the factory, for under $400. I didn't buy anything extra for it, standard sights and 10 round magazines. I did,t feel the need to buy an extender to give me 2 more rounds. The 3 mags that came with it is enough for me , my hand is small so I don't need the extra grip.

Feb 08, 2014
Glock 26 stovepipe
by: E Carter

An update on my Glock stovepipe. No it was not a limp wrist, My wrists are martial arts trained in stiffness. However after the first 400 hundred rounds through it the the Glock 26 never had another Stovepipe or jam. It seems Glock used a stiffer spring to adapt the weapon to +P and it needs break in before firing range ammo perfectly.

Just before he was arrested,Jesus told his Disciples... "If you don't have a sword, Sell your coat and buy one". Mat 22:36 But He would not let the disciples try to protect him or resist the ones arresting him.

Feb 08, 2014
Glock 26 stovepipe
by: E Carter

An update on my Glock stovepipe. No it was not a limp wrist, My wrists are martial arts trained in stiffness. However after the first 400 hundred rounds through it the the Glock 26 never had another Stovepipe or jam. It seems Glock used a stiffer spring to adapt the weapon to +P and it needs break in before firing range ammo perfectly.

Feb 08, 2014
the perfect sub compact 9mm
by: Anonymous

The G26 is quite possibly the most versatile pistol in the Glock stable. I have carried for about 10 yrs and have owned two other Glocks in that time frame, a G17, and a G30 SF. Both weapons were outstanding but the 17 was a little long in the grip for me, and the 30 SF was just too thick for me to be comfortable. The G26 gives me everything I need. For summer carry I use the 10 rnd mags, and for Fall and winter when I wear a cover garment I use a mag with a +2 extension. If I feel the need to carry more ammo I use my 17 mags. An upcoming set of night sights will complete this little pistol. For reliability, concealability, affordability, accuracy and adaptability there is in my opinion no better sub compact 9mm than the G 26.

Nov 28, 2013
Glock 19 step up to smaller Glock 26
by: Charles Solomon

I had two Sig Sp2022 9MM pistols and they weren't bad but for the "wait for the recycle click". After shooting the glock 19 and then Glock 26 that inner voice said "Trade Off NOW" Sold the Sigs and am very Pleased with the glocks. they are Very Effective, Accurate and "diplomatic" No Complaints.

Jun 01, 2013
Funny site
by: Anonymous

I'm a gun nut, not a nut with a gun. It's not a god given right. The government is not taking your freedoms. I'm more worried about big business manipulating the system than the system itself. Just think about GMO foods. I want real food, not genetically modified. Anyway, do you think Jesus would carry a gun, no. Seriously, it's just funny . . . Christian Gun Owner.

Apr 06, 2013
perfection
by: Roman Road

My wife gave me a Glock 26 on my 46th birthday. I've always wanted a Glock, but never got around to buying one. After shooting it I'm kicking myself for not getting one a long time ago. I keep it completly stock, and it never lets me down. You have to get used to your pinky finger not having a place on the grip, but it's not that hard. It's one of the best pistols I've ever shot, and absolutly one of the best birthday presents ever. Stay safe and shoot straight.

Feb 03, 2013
Glocks For Me
by: BoB

I carry the Glock 26 as my CCW. Very reliable. One thing about it... because it is an excellent +P weapon, the downside (if there is one) is using light ammo in it isn't to it's taste. The recoil spring (the stock one) is rather robust to accomodate full snot rounds with ease. If you ever encounter a stovepipe (I've shot about 2,000 rounds through mine from Walmart white box to Doubletap), get beefier ammo.

I also have (and endorse) the Glock 29. A bit larger, and a touch heavier, but whoa momma what a cannon! With just these two Glocks, and a Lone Wolf 10mm/40 S&W conversion barrel for shooting .40 S&W in the Glock 29, I have all of the shooting arsenel anyone would need.

My $0.02

Dec 15, 2012
glocks for us
by: Anonymous

My wife bought a g26 as a retirement present to herself. After 20 years as a cop, 15 of those she carried a g19 as her duty gun. When her dpt. switched to the m&p just before her retirement she HATED it. She is happy to be back to glock. As for me my main carry guns are a g19 and Kahr

Nov 18, 2012
Go with the Glock 19 GEN 4
by: Anonymous

Great post. Let's leverage the info. If you like the handling qualities of the G26, then consider the Gen 4. It has a dual spring technology that reduces the recoil even more than the Gen 3. Eats all kinds of factory ammoIf you are going to add a +2 mag extender, just go with the model 19. The height of the gun is the same and you get 15 rounds in the clip plus1 in the chamber. Either way at least the sheepdogs on this blog man up and carry. Seek justice, love mercy, walk humbly with God.

Apr 14, 2012
Hey now!
by: Anonymous

E Carter. Before you blame the weapon you need to check your wrist posture when you fire the weapon. For a semi automatic weapon to cycle you need to have your wrist as stiff as possible. This lets the gas from the round cycle the action of the pistol. A limp wrist = stovepipe jams. For a glock to be jamming as often as yours is, I bet you a hundred rounds of that white box ammo that it's you that is making the gun jam. My lady had the same problem when she started shooting auto pistols, her G19 jammed all the time while it never jammed for me. Not trying to be harsh in any way, I am just trying to help you improve your game.

Sep 13, 2011
Love My Glock 26!
by: librarylady

I am a petite female and I LOVE my Glock 26. It is perfect for my hand, VERY easy to conceal, simple, and accurate. I go twice a month to stay proficient. I would highly recommend this weapon for ladies. I also use a Galco King Tuk holster with the Glock which is the best holster I have ever used. You can't even tell I am carrying, and that is with a less-than-loose shirt. I wear it to church (with permission) and no one is the wiser.
This combo is one of the best investments I have ever made, as I live in Detroit.
Glocks are very forgiving guns. You can neglect them a bit and they still work great!
My next investment will be night sights---the back sights a separate color from the front to avoid mistakes.
Go to a range, try a Glock 26 and see for yourself.

Feb 13, 2010
Glock 26 reliability
by: E Carter

My brand new Glock 26 experienced three stove pipe jams in the first 20 rounds fired from it. This was using factory Winchester 115 grain field loads from Academy and the two factory magazines. The next 200 rounds it jammed at a decreasing rate but it was still jamming more than 2 percent of the time. One jam was a double feed where the shell did not extract. Glock told me I should buy more powerful ammo but did not offer to repair the gun. So much for their reputation. I am going to trade it for a revolver.

Feb 13, 2010
Glock 26 reliability
by: E Carter

My brand new Glock 26 experienced three stove pipe jams in the first 20 rounds fired from it. This was using factory Winchester 115 grain field loads from Academy. The next 200 rounds it jammed at a decreasing rate but it was still jamming more than 2 percent of the time. One jam was a double feed where the shell did not extract. Glock told me I should buy more powerful ammo but did not offer to repair the gun. So much for their reputation. I am going to trade it for a revolver.

Oct 31, 2008
Thanks for confirming Glock 26 for me
by: KenW

Given the current climate of a down economy and high prices for just about everything, crime is definitely on the increase, and we all need to be prepared. I have been carrying both a S&W 38 Special and/or a Glock 19, I am never unprotected. But I have been concerned with the conceal-ability of both of these guns, and have been looking for something that provides sufficient capacity and stopping power in one gun. I love the 19, but it is a bit long for comfort in the waistband, especially when one must sit with it. After reading your review of the 26, I am convinced that it will be added to my arsenal of personal protection weapons. Thanks!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Best Concealed Carry Handgun.