BERSA Thunder Pro Series Review

by Clark Lewis
(Raleigh NC)

BERSA PRO HC 9

BERSA PRO HC 9

BERSA PRO HC 9 BERSA PRO UC SERIES BERSA 380 Thunder CC

OK Model 22 fans there is a new kid on the block. The Bersa Thunder Pro series. I have and love my Glocks and carried my Model 31 .357 sig until I got a Bersa 380 Thunder CC. Excellent gun!

The gun is accurate, enabling me to shoot 2" groups at 25 yards. So when I heard about the Bersa Pro Series, I jumped at the chance to burn some powder through these.

I first ordered the HC Pro 9 for under $400.00. WOW! Full size and accurate. Out shoots my S&W M&P 9mm and my Beretta M9. In my opinion, the best value in a 9mm on the market today.

Next I got the Pro UC Series for a concealed carry. OH MY GOODNESS! What a fine weapon, easy to conceal, light, accurate and comes in 9mm, .40, and .45acp.

Here are the specs;
Thunder 9 UC (10 or 13 round)
Thunder 40 (10 round)
Thunder 45 (7 round)
Precision machined lightweight alloy, Picatinny rail, polygonal rifling & loaded chamber, indicator, Ambidextrous safety, slide release and magazine release, lifetime service contract, Intergral locking system, anatomically designed polymer grips. It now comes standard with a picatinny rail, polygonal rifling and a loaded chamber indicator. Double action, semi auto, 3-dot sight system, extended slide release
Available in Matte or Duotone finish.

The sights can be easily changed (with the right equipment). I prefer the Meprolight Tru-Dot Night Sights. If adjustable is your thing, then the Meprolight TD adjustable set for pistols w/ #8 front and rear sights work great.

Am I going to sell my Glocks? NO WAY, but as far as confidence, accuracy, and value, Bersa is making lots of sense. I shoot IDPA and we are starting to see these show up at competitions and holding their own against some high dollar fire-power.

If asked about concealed carry, I make available Glocks, Berretta, S&W, Kel-tec and Bersa for folks to try to see if they would like them, and the Bersa's are being chosen more and more. As one lady put it, it just feels good.

So if you have some extra cash or have a range that rents pistols, wrap your fingers around a Bersa Pro Series pistol and give it a whirl, you may just have something else to put in your arsenal.

Comments for BERSA Thunder Pro Series Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 17, 2014
NOT TO GOOD NEW
by: DON

I HAVE BERSA THUNDER 380 GREAT GUN WENT AND GOT ME A BERSA THUNDER UC PRO 45ACP SHOT IT 150RDS AND THE FRAME SPLIT , IT TOKE BERSA 3 MONTHS TO GET A NEW ONE WHEN I DO GET IT BACK I WILL SALE IT

Feb 24, 2014
Thunder 9 UC NEW
by: Bill

Just went over 2000 rounds in it without a failure of any type. This pistol feels great and shoots straight. The only thing I do not like are the dull 3 dot sights. I tried to install some Hi-Vis sights. The front was tight but did not need to samd or file, it went. I could not get the rear sight in, even after filing. The flat part of,the sight that houses the light tubes hit the top of the rounded slide keeping them from going sll the way through straight. I guess I will try the Meprolight sights or maybe some dayglow paint on the rear.

Feb 24, 2014
Bersa Thunder ,45 UC Pro NEW
by: Anonymous

Just acquired a Bersa .45 UC Pro, and it is a nice handgun, but shoots 3-4 inches below point of aim at 10 yards. I am hoping to replace the sights with a taller rear and smaller front to resolve this. I would have just shaved down the front sight, but that would have left a "half white dot". I own a Bersa Model 83 .380 that I have had for over 20 years, it is a great shooter, so imagine my disappointment with the Thunder .45

Also, the fact that the rear sight is plastic has me a bit disgruntled, but my replacement is at least metal, so this should improve.

Nov 17, 2013
Highly disappointed NEW
by: Cowboy

I like the features of the 45 UC. If you are used to an S&W 645 (or 4506)or a Sig P220, it functions the same way. Impressive on the first 40 rounds. After about 60 rounds the slide release broke causing the slide to lock open on each shot. Availability of parts is not good. Price of additional mags is outrageous at $49.99 each for a 7 rd mag. I have over $500 tied up and no telling when I'll get the gun back. I only had it for a week. Strong concerns of reliability.

Oct 27, 2013
Bersa pro 40 disappointed NEW
by: Rich

I purchased the thunder pro 40 in august of this year. The first time a fired the gun the magazine would not release. I had to send it to a gunsmith
who was listed in the bersa booklet. It cost me
$25.00 to mail it through a licensed dealer. I got the pistol back 3 weeks later fixed. Went back tgo the range, magazine release worked. As I was firing
the pistol the slide release lever broke, this is
metal, how could this happen? Now I have to send it back for repair again at a cost of another $25.00
I am very disappointed with this gun. I would not recommend this product.

Sep 10, 2013
So-So sidearm NEW
by: Anonymous

I had 3 Bersa sidearms. A .380, it's little sister .22, and an Ultra Compact 9mm. They're all ok but nothing special. All of them have had a tendency to mis-feed. The .380 and .22 are easily concealable and reliable enough for pocket guns, but I sold the 9mm and bought a FNS 9mm, which is a truly superior weapon in every respect. I have a matching .40 and I love both of these guns. A distant 3rd is my S&W M&P .45. I don't carry that often, I prefer open carry, but if you want a hide-a-gun Bersa is ok and low cost. I wouldn't reccommend it for any other reason.

Sep 03, 2013
Bersa Thunder 9 UC PRO NEW
by: Brian PCB

I wanted to chime in on this topic because I have been VERY pleased with my Thunder 9 UC PRO. 13 + 1 in a compact handgun that fits a big guy's hand to perfection is not easy to find for under $500. I originally had an HK USP 9 that was the epitome of solid and dependable. I had to downgrade from that Rolls Royce of handguns because it was too difficult to conceal. The Bersa made that transition painless. I've had the gun now for one year with no FTE or FTL issues at all. The gun feeds all types of ammo with ease and weighs the same as my HK full size polymer frame, so it feels solid. I carry daily in a Crossbreed holster and at times forget that I am carrying due to the comfort. This gun may be a bit too big for a lady to CC on her person, but my wife carries in her purse regularly with no issue.

Basically, Bersa is a solid dependable handgun that you can feel very confident in.

Jul 25, 2013
bersa.45 uc pro NEW
by: clay 467

just thought id let anyone who was wondering know that this is a fine weapon accurate reliable very little recoil in my opinion for the money cant be beat

Jun 16, 2012
this gun is the shit NEW
by: bcultra

I am armed security across the valley in Arizona. I also own the bersa 40 thunder pro, wow is all I need to say, I have shot guns twice as expensive and was less impressed. Thank you Argentina, you guys have outdone yourselves on these models. I would have gladly paid an additional c note, if I had known prior have good this baby performs, never named easy to clean a very reliable piece to own!

May 03, 2012
Seriously best bang for the buck!
by: D

I have to say that after owning some rugers, glocks and a kahr bersa is now by far my favorite pistol manufacturer. I've even had a s&w and ask of the above have had either quirks, break in periods, ftf, fte, etc.at double and triple the cost of my current bersa's I find very little in the way of excuses for these well established companies to have such snobbery with so many inherent design flaws. On the other hand I have the thunder 380 cc and ultra compact 9mm 13+1 with absolutely no issues.... Literary none. Bravo to bersa for understanding what actually matters in firearms, what is effective is all that matters. My 380 cc is my pocket light carry, 9mm is for more clothing, have a taurus 1911 and judge public defender for hd and my "revolver shotgun" for off hand hd (btw taurus has improved a lot recently). My hunting kit is larue predatar 556 16" middy with kel tec pmr 30 and my family is completely uniform. Trust bersa with my life and my does too. If you have any doubts comparing any bersa to another, do yourself a favor, save several hundred dollars and know that when you need it, it will always go bang and hit its mark. Simply effective.

Apr 02, 2012
I have a Bersa Ultra Carry Pro 9
by: Ed

I like the way it shoots and every time I shoot it I am more impressed solid is the word. I have a Glock 27 40cal and have loved it now I have a very good Bersa and loving it and with no problems at all. I really like shooting in and has tight groups for me that is amazing. I'm a Bersa fan my frinds have had the 380's and that was what impressed me about Bersa a very fine gun in my opinion.

Mar 26, 2012
Sights
by: Clark LEwis

Bersa is now making all Thunder 9, 40, and 45's with dovetail rear and front sights fully compatable with the SIG 220/226 starting these serial numbers:

Thunder 45 UC starting from serial # A76136
Thunder 9 & 40 HC # A80227
Thunder 9 & 40 UC # A80077


Mar 26, 2012
rear sight question.
by: hobbles

Mornin Boys,
I am thinkin about getting a Bersa 9 pro but am not happy with not being able to adjust the rear sight, I understand they come with a combat sight setup, but my problem is I shoot puter paper size targets more then man size targets. I hear [url=http://www.galatiinternational.com/product/PSTPU25SS30.html]these[/url] fit the older Bersa weapons but not the new ones. Does anyone know of a adjustable rear sight that will fit the newer models??

Jan 06, 2012
Bersa Thunder 9UC, Thunder 380
by: Roger M

I first purchased the Thunder 380, still have it, still shoot it & still like it. It's a keeper! My Thuder 9UC has just over 500 rounds through it. I reload & have tried everything from 88gr FMJ to 125LRN with never a misfire, or jam. They are both incredibly reliable, just what you want in a quality CCW gun. For "pretty" I have a Taurus PT92AFS, 9mm, the stainless/shiny alloy full size model, also a reliable weapon, but too big for daily carry, but a great "house gun!" I regularly shoot all 3 of them and can attest to their durability and quality!

Nov 04, 2011
bersa 40 uc
by: ed

i recently purchased mine and have shot a hundred rounds so far. very tight groups at 40 yards but a little low. i think thats me being new to pistols. otherwise very impressed. i pd 450 for it and very happy

Oct 04, 2011
Thrilled with Bersa
by: Anonymous

I have a Thunder .380 for CC and a Thunder .22 for plinking. Never a single FTE or FTF. My next fire arm purchase will be the Thunder Pro, HC based solely on the performance of my two current Bersa pistols. Excellent value and dependability!

Apr 27, 2011
Bersa Thunder
by: Donzo

I own the Bersa Thunder .380.....Love it....and it REALLY is a great shooting,very accurate gun.....Yup!!

Feb 26, 2011
Superb Handgun
by: Anonymous

Own the Thunder 9 HC. Excellent firearm, shoots excellent and troublefree. The Hyundai of handguns.

Dec 20, 2010
Bersa 380
by: Anonymous

I have a Bersa thunder 380 CC and absolutely love it. I am going to check out the Pro HC and if it anything like the 380 in satisfaction I will buy it. They are hard to find in Connecticut. Haven't found one in stock yet.

Dec 14, 2010
bersa
by: robert

me and my wife both carry bersa guns ,they shot well,fit in my hand comfortable,I like how easy they are to clean also.

Dec 04, 2010
That helped.
by: Richard

Going to a gunshow today and have been thinking of looking at Bersa's. The review helped, now I will definitely check them out.

Dec 03, 2010
Bersa
by: Randy

I am nit surprised. I carry the Bersa thunder .380.
Have for 2 years. carrys well, shoots fantastic

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Best Concealed Carry Handgun.

Have you been delaying carrying your handgun trying to figure it all out? There's no reason to wait another day to take decisive action.

ccw-eval